Printer-friendly versionPDF version

An Chúirt Uachtarach na hÉireann (Irish)
The Hon. Mr. Justice Frank Clarke
Chief Justice (i.e. the President of the Supreme Court of Ireland)
Member of the Council of State of Ireland
Member of the Presidential Commission
Chairperson of the Board of the Courts Service of Ireland
Chief Justice since: 2017
Justice of the Supreme Court since: 2012
Career before being a judge of the Supreme Court:
1973-2004 Barrister-at-Law
1978-1985 Professor of Law, the Honorable Society of King’s Inns
1985 Appointed Senior Counsel
1993-1995 Chair of the Bar Council
1994 Elected Bencher of the Honorable Society of King’s Inns
1194 Made an honorary Member of the Canadian Bar Association
1999-2004 Chair of the Council of King’s Inns
1997-2004 Member of the Council of International Bar Associations
1998-2002 Chair, Forum for Barristers and Advocates
2002 Admitted as an honorary member of the Australian Bar Association
2004 Appointed judge of the High Court
2010 Judge in residence at Griffith College Dublin
2012 Appointed judge of the Supreme Court
2012 Adjunct Professor of Law School, Trinity College Dublin
2013 Representative of the Supreme Court of Ireland on ACA-Europe
2013 Adjunct Professor of University College Cork
2017 Griffith College Distinguished Fellowship Award
2018 Appointed a member of the panel provided for in Article 255 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union