Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The Supreme Court of Ireland (English)
An Chúirt Uachtarach na hÉireann (Irish)
Hon. Mrs. Justice Susan Denham, Chief Justice of Ireland
Chief Justice (i.e. The President of the Supreme Court of Ireland)
Member of the Council of State of Ireland
Member of the Presidential Commission
Chairperson of the Board of the Courts Service of Ireland
President of the Network of the Supreme Judicial Courts of the European Union from 1st January 2015
Chief Justice since: 2011
Justice of the Supreme Court since: 1992
Career before being justice of the Supreme Court:
1971 – 1987 Barrister-at-Law on the Midland Circuit and Dublin
1987 Appointed a Senior Counsel
1991 – 1992 Judge of the High Court (second ever female appointed)
1991 Bencher of the Honorable Society of King’s Inns, Dublin
1992 – present Judge of the Supreme Court (first ever female appointed)
1996 – 2010 Pro-Chancellor of the University of Dublin (Trinity College)
2001 – 2004 Inaugural Chairperson of the Board of the Courts Service of Ireland
2004 – 2007 Member of the Steering Committee of the European Network of Councils for the Judiciary (ENCJ)
2005 Honorary Bencher of the Middle Temple, London
2011 Appointed Chief Justice (first female holder of the office)
2011 Honorary Bencher of the Inns of Court of Northern Ireland
2011 – present  Member of the Council of State, Member of the Presidential Commission, Chairperson of the Board of the Courts Service of Ireland, and Chairperson of the following: Courts Service Finance Committee, Committee for Judicial Studies, Superior Courts Rules Committee, Judicial Appointments Advisory Board and the interim Judicial Council; Governor of Marsh’s Library, Dublin.
2013 Member of the Royal Irish Academy